Skip to main content

Broker guide

LMI Waiver for Lawyers: Lender Rules 2026

Does practising status qualify your lawyer client for an LMI waiver? Compare legal roles, income, lender LVR limits and joint-applicant conditions.

Published
Updated

An LMI waiver for lawyers lets a client with a current practising certificate borrow up to 90% of the property’s value without paying lenders mortgage insurance (LMI). ANZ, NAB, CommBank and the Westpac Group brands all name legal professionals, but each lender sets its own role list, loan limits and ownership rules.

The practising certificate decides eligibility before the job title does. An admitted lawyer without a current certificate, a paralegal or a law graduate falls outside ANZ’s and NAB’s published wording, even while working in a law firm.

Practising solicitors and barristers are the core eligible group, because ANZ and NAB tie the waiver to a current practising certificate. ANZ’s broker flyer for legal professionals, dated April 2024 and still published in October 2026, also covers judges and magistrates. NAB’s LMI waiver page, as at October 2026, lists barristers, lawyers and solicitors who are practising and hold a current certificate.

CommBank’s low deposit options page, as at October 2026, names lawyers but doesn’t publish its role test. Westpac, St.George and BankSA list “Legal” under an industry specialisation policy in broker guides current as at 17 August 2026. Their guides make the waiver subject to approved industry accreditation, eligibility and income requirements.

Roles Inside and Outside the Waiver

RoleANZNABWhat decides it
Solicitor with a current practising certificateEligibleEligibleCertificate from a listed law society or legal regulator
Barrister with a current practising certificateEligibleEligibleCertificate from a listed bar association
Judge or magistrateEligibleNot listedANZ accepts a commission or letter of appointment
In-house or government lawyer with a current certificateMeets the flyer’s wordingMeets the page’s wordingNeither document limits the certificate category
Admitted lawyer without a current certificateNot eligibleNot eligibleAdmission isn’t a practising certificate
Paralegal, law clerk or graduate awaiting admissionNot eligibleNot eligibleNo practising certificate
Foreign lawyer working in AustraliaNot listedNot listedNo Australian practising certificate

The certificate category follows the lawyer’s employment. In NSW, the Law Society issues five categories of practising certificate: principal, employee, corporate legal practitioner, government legal practitioner and volunteer. An in-house or government lawyer can hold a corporate or government practising certificate, and ANZ’s and NAB’s wording doesn’t exclude any category.

A foreign lawyer sits outside both lists. The Law Society of NSW says a foreign lawyer isn’t entitled to practise Australian law, so a foreign registration isn’t the certificate these lenders ask for.

Here’s how the role test reads in one hypothetical file:

  • Incorrect: “He’s a senior associate at a city firm, so ANZ will waive his LMI.”
  • Correct: “He holds a current employee practising certificate from the Law Society of New South Wales, so he meets ANZ’s role test. His ownership share and loan size still need to pass.”

Professional and Income Evidence

The practising certificate is the professional evidence, and ANZ needs it current when the application is submitted. ANZ’s April 2024 flyer accepts solicitors’ certificates from eight state and territory law societies and regulators, and barristers’ certificates from eight bar associations.

NAB’s page, as at October 2026, lists the same 16 bodies. A lawyer whose certificate comes from another state therefore still meets both lenders’ wording, as long as it’s current.

Check the register as well as the certificate. The Law Society of NSW’s Register of Solicitors lists solicitors who hold a current practising certificate. It also says the certificate type doesn’t necessarily show the solicitor’s position at the practice, so take the role from employment evidence.

Judges and magistrates prove their role differently. ANZ asks for a current commission or letter of appointment, or another document confirming judicial office, such as a recent payslip or tax return.

Income Documents

ANZ waives the premium with no minimum income, so income evidence at ANZ supports servicing, the test of whether the client can afford the repayments, not waiver eligibility. The Westpac Group guides, current as at 17 August 2026, list income among the industry policy’s requirements but don’t state the figure.

An employed solicitor proves income with payslips, like any salaried borrower. A barrister, sole practitioner or law firm partner is self-employed, so the lender reads tax returns and business financials instead. The self-employed home loan guide explains how lenders count that income.

Macquarie’s 10 September 2026 credit guidelines accept one year of income documents from a self-employed lawyer with a Law Society practising certificate. The practice must have traded for at least 12 months. That policy caps the loan-to-value ratio (LVR) at 80%, so it helps a newer practice borrowing with a 20% deposit, not a 90% waiver loan.

Partnership income and practice debt need their own assessment. The home loan guide for lawyers explains how lenders treat them.

Compare Lender Conditions

Compare lenders on the LVR, loan size and ownership split of the actual purchase, because a waiver that fits one of those facts can fail on another. ANZ’s April 2024 flyer publishes the most detail for legal professionals.

LenderMaximum LVR without LMILoan size limitsJoint-applicant treatmentIncome test
ANZ90%, on ANZ’s valuationBorrowing of $4.5 million or less. House or townhouse valued at $5 million or less, or a unit at $4 million or less, with higher limits in some postcodes. Total ANZ home lending of $8 million or lessThe lawyer holds the largest or equal-largest ownership shareNo minimum income
NABNot stated on its waiver pageNot statedNot statedNot stated
CommBank90%, from a deposit of as little as 10%Not statedNot statedNot stated
Westpac, St.George and BankSAUp to 90%Not stated for the legal industryNot statedAn income requirement applies, with no figure in the guides

The NAB and CommBank rows reflect their public pages as at October 2026. The Westpac Group row comes from the three brands’ broker guides, current as at 17 August 2026.

Joint Applicants

ANZ tests the lawyer’s ownership share, not who earns the most. With two owners, the lawyer must own at least 50%. With three owners at 40%, 40% and 20%, a lawyer holding one of the 40% shares qualifies.

Take a hypothetical solicitor buying with a partner who isn’t a lawyer. At 50% each, the solicitor meets ANZ’s test. If the solicitor’s parents join with a 40% share and the couple hold 30% each, the solicitor isn’t the largest owner and the waiver fails at ANZ.

NAB, CommBank and the Westpac Group don’t publish an ownership rule for their legal waivers. Settle their answer before the client signs a contract that fixes the ownership split.

LVR, Repayments and Loan Purpose

ANZ’s 10% deposit applies to owner-occupier and investor loans with principal and interest repayments. An interest-only period or an Equity Manager facility needs a different deposit, which ANZ’s business development manager (BDM) sets. ANZ measures LVR against its own valuation, and the LVR guide shows how a lower valuation lifts it.

The waiver also covers refinances and top-ups of existing ANZ lending. ANZ’s flyer estimates the waived premium at $17,699 on an $800,000 purchase with an $80,000 deposit. ANZ doesn’t apply the waiver automatically, so ask its BDM to apply it to the application.

Record the Decision

When a client’s role, jurisdiction or employment arrangement sits outside a lender’s published wording, get the lender’s answer in writing and keep it dated on the file. Do this before you recommend that lender. These cases need that confirmation most:

  • A judge or magistrate applying to NAB, whose page lists only practising certificate holders.
  • A lawyer with a volunteer certificate, or a certificate carrying a supervised legal practice condition.
  • A lawyer on a temporary visa, which ANZ’s flyer says may be acceptable for some visas on the Medium and Long Term Strategic Skills List.
  • A Westpac, St.George or BankSA application, where the income threshold isn’t published.
  • A joint purchase at NAB, CommBank or the Westpac Group, where the lawyer isn’t the largest owner.

Follow these steps for each unclear point:

  1. Write the exact question with the client’s facts: role, certificate category, issuing body, employer, ownership split, LVR and loan amount.
  2. Send it to the lender’s BDM and ask for a written reply, such as an email.
  3. Save the reply with the BDM’s name, its date and the policy document it relies on, including that document’s date.
  4. Save the practising certificate and a register search showing the date you checked it.
  5. Recheck the certificate and the lender’s answer if the certificate renews or the policy changes before submission.

The dated confirmation shows why you chose that lender, which supports your best interests duty record. Bulma quotes each lender’s policy wording with the date Bulma last updated that policy, and you can copy both into your file notes.

When the written answer, the certificate and the ownership split all match, the waiver can go into your recommendation. When one of them doesn’t, price that lender with LMI and compare it with the other waiver lenders your client does qualify for.

Check the policy behind your next scenario

Ask Bulma a lender policy question and inspect the source behind the answer.